With no less than seven Olympic medals collected in Tokyo 2020 (4 gold and 3 bronze), Australia’s most decorated Olympian Emma McKeon highlights the Berlin entries. After an incredible summer, the star is setting sights at the SWC 2021 for which a total prize money of US$ 1'452'000 will be available.

The strong Australian delegation in Berlin will also be represented by Zac Incerti, Matthew Temple, Madison Wilson, Kyle Chalmers, Leah Neale and Minna Atherton.

Other big names to be expected in Berlin are: open water Olympic champion and national hero Florian Wellbrock, Arno Kamminga from the Netherlands, South Africa’s butterfly king Chad Le Clos and Blake Pieroni of the USA.

In the women’s pool, Canada’s Olympic champion Kylie Masse and teammate Margaret Macneil will be there as well as Sweden’s Michelle Coleman and Lydia Jacoby (USA). Russia’s swimming star Yuliya Efimova and Kira Toussaint of the Netherlands will also ensure a spectacular show at Berlin's Europasportpark indoor swimming pool.

A sum of US$ 224'000 to the top 20 athletes will be available for each stage, and a total of US$ 556'000 will be given to the top 10 athletes at the end of the series based on the overall ranking.

Scoring system

Athletes collect a number of points at each leg based on their results. The overall winners (man and woman) are the athletes with the highest points after completion of all the meets from the series. The best performance in combination with achievements in different events, not only among swimmers of the same discipline but among all the athletes competing at the series, can be a winning tactic to gain the maximum number of points.

To find out more about the scoring system, please follow this link.

The competition’s schedule unfolds as follows:

The circuit next stops in Budapest (HUN) from October 7-9, while Doha (QAT) and Kazan (RUS) will stage the two remaining stages on October 21-23 and October 28-30.

All four stops of the 2021 World Cup will be competed in 25m-pools and are qualifying events for the postponed 15th FINA World Swimming Championships (25m) to be held in Abu Dhabi (UAE) from December 16-21, 2021.

2021 FINA Swimming World Cup calendar:

  1. Berlin (GER) – October 1-3
  2. Budapest (HUN) – October 7-9
  3. Doha (QAT) - October 21-23
  4. Kazan (RUS) - October 28-30

Vladimir Morozov (RUS), to be present in Berlin, and Cate Campbell (AUS) were the winner of the 2019 edition of the FINA Swimming World Cup.

2019 overall MEN

  1. Vladimir Morozov (RUS) 333 pts
  2. Danas Rapsys (LTU) 234 pts
  3. Arno Kamminga (NED) 195 pts

2019 overall WOMEN

  1. Cate Campbell (AUS) 357 pts
  2. Katinka Hosszu (HUN) 312 pts
  3. Michelle Coleman (SWE) 174 pts