The second leg of the 2020 FINA Diving Grand Prix took place on February 20-23 in Rostock (GER), with athletes from Great Britain, USA, Russia, Germany and Ukraine getting gold medals in the competition, which comprised 10 finals.

Among men, Russia won two out of four events, with Ruslan Ternovoi prevailing in the 10m platform, and also triumphing with his teammate Aleksandr Belevtsev in the synchro final. In 3m action, James Heatly (GBR) was the best in the individual event, while local hero Patrick Hausding delighted his fans in the 3m synchro (pairing with Lars Rudiger). Hausding was also bronze medallist in the individual 3m final, with the silver going to Michael Hixon (USA). In the 10m platform, Ethan Pitman (CAN) was second behind Ternovoi, while Matthew Dixon (USA) completed the podium. In the synchro events, USA, Poland, France and Ukraine also got medals in Rostock.

In the women’s field, the US representatives controlled operations, with three titles out of four finals. The exception was Andrea Spendolini Sirieix (GBR) in the individual 10m platform. Otherwise, Brooke Christine Schultz got the gold in the 3m springboard, Kassidy Cook and Sarah Bacon imposed their class in the synchro event, and Jessica Parratto/Amy Magana earned the top spot in the 10m platform synchro. In individual action, Tina Punzel (GER, silver) and Anna Pysmenska (UKR, bronze) completed the podium in the 3m, with Celina Toth (CAN, second) and Parrato, third, taking the minor medals in the 10m platform. Russia (third 10m synchro) completed the list of countries with medals in the women’s finals.

Finally, in the two mixed events, Ukraine (Victoriya Kesar/Stanislav Oliferchyk) was the best in the lower board, while Great Britain (Lucas Thomson/Gemma McArthur) shone in the 10m.

After two European legs (Madrid and Rostock), the FINA Diving Grand Prix will now proceed to North America, with the third competition of the circuit taking place on May 14-17 in Windsor (CAN). The 2020 edition of the competition comprises eight meets in the five continents.

Medallists in Rostock (GER):

3m springboard: 1. James Heatly (GBR), 424.25; 2. Michael Hixon (USA), 410.90; 3. Patrick Hausding (GER), 371.85
10m platform: 1. Ruslan Ternovoi (RUS), 477.85; 2. Ethan Pitman (CAN), 465.90; 3. Matthew Dixon (GBR), 420.95
3m springboard synchro: 1. Lars Rudiger/Patrick Hausding (GER), 395.79; 2. Michael Hixon/Andrew Capobianco (USA), 392.28; 3. Andrzej Rzeszutek/Kacper Lesiak (POL), 382.56
10m platform synchro: 1. Ruslan Ternovoi/Aleksandr Belevtsev (RUS), 411.00; 2. Matthieu Rosset/Benjamin Auffret (FRA), 371.73; 3. Oleg Serbin/Yevgen Naumenko (UKR), 367.83

3m springboard: 1. Brooke Christine Schultz (USA), 314.10; 2. Tina Punzel (GER), 303.00; 3. Anna Pysmenska (UKR), 300.10
10m platform: 1. Andrea Spendolini Sirieix (GBR), 330.50; 2. Celina Toth (CAN), 329.35; 3. Jessica Parratto (USA), 320.50
3m springboard synchro: 1. Kassidy Cook/Sarah Bacon (USA), 287.01; 2. Victoriya Kesar/Anna Pysmenska (UKR), 284.64; 3. Scarlett Mew Jensen/Maria Papworth (GBR), 275.10
10m platform synchro: 1. Jessica Parratto/Amy Magana (USA), 286.98; 2. Christina Wassen/Tina Punzel (GER), 275.58; 3. Anna Konanykhina/Iana Satina (RUS), 272.22

3m springboard synchro: 1. Victoriya Kesar/Stanislav Oliferchyk (UKR), 305.61; 2. Jonathan Suckow/Michelle Heimberg (SUI), 282.30; 3. Frithjof Seidel/Jana Lisa Rother (GER), 277.17
10m platform synchro: 1. Lucas Thomson/Gemma McArthur (GBR), 286.20; 2. Naomi Hinzmann/Alexander Lube (GER), 273.48

2020 FINA Diving Grand Prix calendar:

1.    Madrid (ESP) – February 14-16

2.    Rostock (GER) – February 20-23

3.    Windsor (CAN) – May 14-17

4.    Singapore (SGP) – May 29-31

5.    Kuala Lumpur (MAS) – June 5-7

6.    Cairo (EGY) – June 26-28

7.    Bolzano (ITA) – July 3-5

8.    Gold Coast (AUS) – November 6-8