FINA Communications Department

The water polo qualification phase to secure a berth in the 18th FINA World Championships 2019 in Gwangju, Korea, is now completed as 32 teams (16 men, 16 women) will take part in the men and women’ tournaments.

The teams for the men’s tournament were seeded as follows:

LINE 1: Serbia, Auustralia, Hungary, Germany
LINE 2: Montenegro, Spain, Croatia, Brazil
LINE 3: Greece, USA, Italy, New Zealand
LINE 4: South Africa, Kazakhstan, Japan, Korea

The teams for the women’s tournament were seeded as follows:

LINE 1: USA, Russia, Spain, Australia
LINE 2: Netherlands, China, Greece, Canada
LINE 3: Cuba, HUngary, Italy, New Zealand
LINE 4: Kazakhstan, Korea, Japan, South Africa

The variety of the squad qualified to the World Championships, with teams from the five continents, represents the universality of the sport which is popular all around the world within both genders.

The tournaments will be held from July 14-27 on alternate days for the men and women’s tournament.