FINA Communication Department

242 young synchronised swimmers, from 34 countries*, are heading to Kazan (RUS) for the 15th FINA World Junior Synchronised Swimming Championships – an event gathering girls aged between 15-18 (born in 2001, 2000, 1999 & 1998) – which will take place from July 9-13.

The FINA World Junior Synchronised Swimming Championships are held every two years, in even years, and after editions in Volos, Greece (2012) and Helsinki, Finland (2014), FINA is returning to the Kazan Aquatics Palace, which hosted a successful 2015 FINA World Championships.

National Federations were allowed to register up to 12 athletes.

The competition schedule unfolds as follows:

July 9
July 10
July 11
July 12
July 13
10:00 Prelim Duet
17:30 Opening Ceremony
18:00 Prelim Team
10:00 Prelim Solo
18:00 Prelim Free Comb
10:00 Figure Comp 10:00 Final Duet
18:00 Final Team
10:00 Final Solo
18:00 Final Free Comb

*Australia, Belarus, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Egypt, Spain, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Liechtenstein, Macau, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Russia, San Marino, Slovakia, South Africa, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, USA, Uzbekistan and Venezuela.

The medals order of the last edition in Helsinki was as follows: Russia (three gold and one silver), Japan (one gold, two silver and one bronze), China (three bronze), and Canada (one silver medal).

The kickoff press conference will be held at the conference room of the Aquatics Palace on July 9 with the attendance of FINA President Dr. Julio C. Maglione, FINA Executive Director Cornel Marculescu, Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports of the Republic of Tatarstan Vladimir Leonov, three-time Olympic champion and first Vice-President of the Russian Synchronised Swimming Federation Olga Brusnikina, and Director General of the Directorate for Sports and Social Projects Azat Kadyrov.