Russell McKinnon, FINA Media Committee

Perth, Australia, Mar 31— Australia men and United States of America women are the 2019 FINA Water Polo World League Intercontinental Cup champions.

Play concluded at HBF Stadium in Perth today with Australia winning the final 10-8 over Japan and Canada defeated Kazakhstan for bronze 9-4.

The champion Australian men with silver-medal women.

United States of America retained its women's crown with a penalty shootout victory over host Australia.

USA was 8-4 ahead at halftime, but the Aussie Stingers found form and forced a shootout at 9-9, losing 14-12.

USA women with their gold medals

Final Placings:


1. Australia

2. Japan

3. Canada

4. Kazakhstan

5. Argentina

6. China

7. New Zealand

8. South Africa


1. United States of America

2. Australia

3. China

4. Canada

5. Japan

6. Kazakhstan

7. New Zealand

8. South Africa

Tournament MVPs: Men: Nicolas Bicari (CAN). Women: Bronwen Knox (AUS).

Tournament Teams:

Men: Anthony Hrysanthos (AUS), Nicolas Bicari (CAN), Yusuke Inaba (JPN), Aidan Roach (AUS), Yevgenyi Medvedev (KAZ), Keigo Okawa (JPN), German Yanez (ARG). Coach: Elvia Fatovic (AUS).

Women: Ashleigh Johnson (USA), Bronwen Knox (AUS), Rowie Webster (AUS), Alys Williams (USA), Elyse Lemay-Lavoie (CAN), Kotori Suzuki (JPN), Huan Wang (CHN). Coach: Adam Krikorian (USA).

Highest goal-scorers:


21. Yusuke Inaba (JPN)

18. German Yanez (ARG)

18. Nicolas Bicari (CAN)

14. Zhongxian Chen (CHN)

14. Jason Evezard (RSA)


22. Rowie Webster (AUS)

16. Emmerson Houghton (NZL)

15. Yumi Arima (JPN)

14. Huan Wang (CHN)

14. Akari Inaba (JPN)