The season-opening meet will take place at Katara Beach under a very strict COVID-19 protocol which will assure the athletes, coaches and officials safety and well-being. The participants will remain in controlled and protected zones throughout the event.

The women's race is scheduled to start at 9:00am, while the men will swim at 11:30am (times subject to change depending on weather conditions). Both events will be streamed live on FINATV!

Check the provisional entry lists 

The entry lists are composed of many top ranked athletes, including: Olympic title holder Ferry Weertman (NED), Olympic bronze medallist Marc-Antoine Olivier (FRA), 2019 FINA World Championships gold medallist (5km) Kristof Rasovszky (HUN), Olympic and World champion Gregorio Paltrinieri (ITA), Brazil's veteran Allan Do Carmo. Logan Fontaine and Axel Reymond (FRA), Jack Burnell (GBR), Matteo Furlan and Simone Ruffini (ITA), Evgenij Pop Acev (MKD) and Marcel Schouten (NED) are also amongst the strongest contenders.

The women’s field is equally star-studded with open water marathon veteran and World champion Ana Marcela Cunha (BRA), Rio 2016 silver medallist Rachele Bruni (ITA) and European champion Arianna Bridi (ITA), open water rising star Leonie Beck (GER), Samantha Arevalo (ECU), Aurelie Muller (FRA) and Anna Olasz (HUN).