The city of Rotterdam in the Netherlands and the Royal Dutch Swimming Federation will host the FINA Men's Water Polo Olympic Games Qualification Tournament from February 14-21, 2021, at the Zwemcentrum Rotterdam.

Twelve squads will compete next week, all hoping to secure one of the three remaining spots for the Men's Olympic Games Water Polo Tournament in Tokyo this summer. The participating teams were selected through Continental Qualification Tournaments or Continental Championships.

The groups’ composition for Rotterdam splits as follows:


  • Georgia
  • Turkey
  • Canada
  • Brazil
  • Montenegro
  • Greece



  • Croatia
  • Netherlands
  • France
  • Russia
  • Germany
  • Romania

The three best teams (gold, silver, bronze medallists) will secure a berth for the Olympic Games and join the already qualified nine teams, namely: Serbia (FINA Water Polo World League 2019 winner), Italy and Spain (18th FINA World Championships winner and runner-up), USA (Pan American Games 2019), Australia (Oceania), Hungary (European Championships 2020), South Africa (Africa), Kazakhstan (Asia), Japan (host).

A total of 12 men teams will be competing in Tokyo.

The tournament in Rotterdam will be held under strict sanitary measures, implemented and monitored by FINA, so that the health and safety of all participants can be ensured.

All games will be streamed live and available on demand on FINA TV

Check the competition schedules and results