The 15th FINA World Junior Synchronised Swimming Championships came to a close on Wednesday July 13 at the Aquatics Palace of Kazan, Russia, as the host nation asserted itself by grabbing the four titles on offer over the five-day competition.

Russia's Varvara Subbotina claimed gold in the Solo routine on the final competition day in front of a very enthusiastic crowd, while Yelyzaveta Yakhno of Ukraine won silver, and promising Irene Toledano of Spain pocketed the bronze.

Yesterday's evening session saw the Russians celebrating one more title - the Free combination, outplaying China by a small margin. Japan captured bronze with a deserved 89.3333 points.

Veronika Kalinina and Daria Kulagina (RUS) topped the Duet routine with 170.7455 points. Ukraine's Yana Nariezhna and Yelyzaveta Yakhno took silver (165.9185) and Japan was the last nation on the podium with Kirara Oya and Mashiro Yasunaga (165.7798).

Finally, Team Russia also swept the Team routine title with an excellent 170.8215 points, while Japan and Ukraine - the two other strong competitors of this event placed second and third in this order.

Competition scores/results

Solo Final
1.Varvara Subbotina (RUS) 173.9189; 2. Yelyzaveta Yakhno (UKR) 169.3473; 3. Irene Toledano (ESP) 167.1878

Duet Final
1. Veronika Kalinina/Daria Kulagina (RUS) 170.7455; 2. Yana Nariezhna/Yelyzaveta Yakhno (UKR) 165.9185; 3. Kirara Oya/Mashiro Yasunaga (JPN) 165.7798

Team Final
1.Russia 170.8215; 2. Japan 166.5645; 3.Ukraine 165.6804

Free Combination Final
1.Russia 91.9333; 2. China 91.2333; 3. Japan 89.3333


The countries represented at the 15th FINA World Junior Synchronised Swimming Championships were: Australia, Belarus, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Egypt, Spain, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Liechtenstein, Macau, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Russia, San Marino, Slovakia, South Africa, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, USA, Uzbekistan and Venezuela.

The medals' order of the last edition in Helsinki (FIN, 2014) was as follows: Russia (three gold and one silver), Japan (one gold, two silver and one bronze), China (three bronze), and Canada (one silver medal).