Kunshan, China, June 1.— United States of America retained its FINA Women’s Water Polo World League Super Final title with a deserved 8-6 victory over Netherlands at the Kunshan Sports Centre on Saturday.

It was USA's 11th crown and fifth straight title.

Victorious USA  women. Picture Atsushi Ueda

For Maggie Steffens and Mel Seidemann it is an unprecedented eighth World League gold medal. Kiley Neushul and Rachel Fattal claim their fifth each while Kaleigh Gilchrist collects her fourth, and Ashleigh Johnson and Aria Fischer their third each.

Netherlands won the opening quarter, USA was 3-2 ahead at halftime, 6-4 at the final break while the Dutch levelled at 2:27 before USA scored twice to seal victory.

Russia stole the bronze medal with a last-gasp lob following a Canadian error at the other end of the pool. Daria Ryzkhova sprinted the length of the pool and received the pass for a critical lob that soared through the air as the buzzer sounded. It was 7-6 in favour of Russia, whose head coach, Alexander Gaydukov, was ejected for consistent chattingjust before teh final break.

Spain claimed fifth place with a 10-5 margin over host China, thanks to three goals in the first half to Anna Espar.

In the play-off for seventh and eighth, Australia beat Japan 10-7 with a five-goal burst either side of the final break.

Silver medallist Netherlands.b Victorious Picture Atsushi Ueda

Final Placings:

1. United States of America

2. Netherlands

3. Russia

4. Canada

5. Spain

6. China

7. Australia

8. Japan

Maud Megens, Ashleigh Johnson and Catharina van der Sloot. Picture Atsushi Ueda


Best Goalkeeper: Ashleigh Johnson (USA)

Highest Scorer: Maud Megens (Netherlands) 15.

Most Valuable Player: Catharina van der Sloot (Netherlands)