Local stars were able to win three gold medals in the eighth meet of the 2019 FINA Diving Grand Prix, held in Kuala Lumpur (MAS), staged on November 17-19, a competition where most of the titles at stake went to China.

Malaysian success came in the men’s 3m springboard, with Ooi Tze Liang triumphing in 439.70, ahead of Miao Zhanming of China. Pairing with Chew Yiwei, Tze Liang was again the best in the synchro event – gold medal in 410.61. Finally, the third achievement for the local divers was completed in the mixed 3m springboard synchro, with Muhd Puteh/Ng Yee finishing first in 299.22

From China, Duan Yu controlled operations in the men’s platform, and was also the winner of the synchro 10m, with teammate Wang Zewei. In the women’s competition, the Asian powerhouse performed excellently, with gold-silver in the individual events – in 3m, Huang Xiaohui was first and Lin Shan earned silver, while in 10m Lin Shan was the winner, followed by Tang Yixuan. In synchro action, China was also at the top of the ranking in both the 3m springboard and 10m platform.

The last gold medal of the Kuala Lumpur rendezvous went to Mexico in the mixed 10m platform synchro.

Five other nations also won medals in Malaysia: Australia, France, Japan, Russia and Switzerland.

The 2019 edition of the FINA Diving Grand Prix will conclude with the ninth and final meet of the series on November 22-24 in Singapore.

Medallists in Kuala Lumpur (MAS):

3m springboard: 1. Ooi Tze Liang (MAS) 439.70; 2. Miao Zhanming (CHN) 417.75; 3. Jonathan Suckow (SUI) 405.55
10m platform: 1. Duan Yu (CHN) 466.65; 2. Rikuto Tamai (JPN) 456.20; 3. Wang Zewei (CHN) 443.00
3m springboard synchro: 1. Chew Yiwei/Ooi Tze Liang (MAS) 410.61; 2. Tai Xiaohu/Zhang Chao (CHN) 387.75; 3. Alexis Jandard/Gwendal Bisch (FRA) 374.94
10m platform synchro: 1. Duan Yu/Wang Zewei (CHN) 404.37; 2. Jellson Jabillin/Hanis Nazirul Jaya Surya (MAS) 365.10; 3. Reo Nishida/Shunta Kaneko (JPN) 344.40

3m springboard: 1. Huang Xiaohui (CHN) 339.40; 2. Lin Shan (CHN) 330.90; 3. Ng Yan Yee (MAS) 306.55
10m platform: 1. Lin Shan (CHN) 367.80; 2. Tang Yixuan (CHN) 359.20; 3. Matsuri Arai (JPN) 319.60
3m springboard synchro: 1. Huang Xiaohui/Wei Ying (CHN) 291.30; 2. Karina Shkliar/Marina Shishkanova (RUS) 255.90; 3. Loh Zhiayi/Lai Jasmine (MAS) 255.72
10m platform synchro: 1. Du Yinying/Tang Yixuan (CHN) 297.00; 2. Matsuri Arai/Minami Itahashi (JPN) 294.30; 3. Laura Hingston/Olivia O’Rourke (AUS) 245.64

3m springboard synchro: 1. Muhd Syafiq Puteh/Ng Yan Yee (MAS) 299.22; 2. Ilia Molchanov/Elizaveta Kuzina (RUS) 287.40; 3. Jonathan Suckow/Michelle Heimberg (SUI) 281.10
10m platform synchro: 1. Diego Balleza/Maria Sanchez (MEX) 301.26

2019 FINA Diving Grand Prix calendar:

#1 - Rostock (GER) - February 14-17
#2 - Calgary (CAN) - April 4-7
#3 - Mission Viejo (USA) - April 11-14
#4 - Madrid (ESP) - June 7-9
#5 - Bolzano (ITA) - June 14-16
#6 - Cairo (EGY) - June 21-23
#7 - Gold Coast (AUS) - November 8-10
#8 - Kuala Lumpur (MAS) - November 15-17
#9 - Singapore (SGP) - November 22-24