The countdown for the second edition of the “FINA Champions Swim Series” has started, as 70 swimmers from 26 nations are ready to compete in the two legs of the 2020 rendezvous, to be staged in Shenzhen (CHN) on January 14-15 and in Beijing (CHN) on January 18-19. In the men’s field, 41 stars are included in the entry list of the event, while 29 swimmers are entered in the women’s category. Moreover, the participating athletes have an accumulated total of 59 Olympic and 163 World Championships’ medals.

Among men, US stars Anthony Ervin (2016 Olympic champion in the 50m free), Matt Grevers (six-time Olympic medallist and on 13 occasions on the podium of the FINA World Championships) and Ryan Murphy (reigning Olympic gold medallist in the 100m and 200m back) will take part in the Series, while Russia will be brilliantly represented by raising stars Andrei Minakov and Oleg Kostin, but also by the winner of the 2019 FINA Swimming World Cup, Vladimir Morozov. From China, individual medley champion Wang Shun or backstroke ace Xu Jiayu will be among the athletes competing at home. Daiya Seto (2019 world champion in 200m and 400m IM) will lead operations for Japan; Nicholas Santos will certainly inspire his Brazilian teammates Felipe Lima, Joao Gomes Jr and Marcelo Chierighini; Tamas Kenderesi (2016 Olympic bronze medallist in the 200m fly) is included in the Hungarian delegation, along with Adam Telegdy and Dominik Kozma; national stars Kristian Gkolomeev (GRE) and Jeremy Desplanches (SUI), both silver medallists in Gwangju 2019 will also be present; Andrii Govorov (UKR), Danas Rapsys (LTU), Dmitriy Balandin (KAZ), Marco Koch (GER), Markus Thormeyer (CAN), Matthew Temple (AUS), Pieter Timmers (BEL), Radoslaw Kawecki (POL) and Robert Glinta (ROU) ate among other stars present at this year’s edition of the “FINA Champions Swim Series”.

On the women’s side, Katinka Hosszu (HUN, four Olympic and 15 world championships’ medals), will be the athlete to beat, and she will be well accompanied by her teammates Boglarka Kapas, Liliana Szilagyi and Ajna Kesely. From the Netherlands, a powerful delegation will have in Ranomi Kromowidjojo its strongest asset, with her compatriots Femke Heemskerk and Kira Toussaint also motivated to shine in Shenzhen and Beijing. From Russia, Anastasiia Fesikova (2012 Olympic runner-up in the 200m back) travels to China with Anna Egorova and Svetlana Chimrova, while Danish star Jeanette Ottesen is entered for the butterfly races. The local delegation is also quite strong, with backstroke champion Fu Yuanhui, individual medley specialist Ye Shiwen or freestyle ace Wang Jianjiahe. Alia Atkinson (JAM), Caroline Pilhatsch (AUT), Ida Hulkko (FIN), Michelle Coleman (SWE), Molly Hannis (USA), Rika Omoto (JPN), Siobhan Haughey (HKG), Sydney Pickrem (CAN) or Martina Carrraro (ITA) are among other strong contenders for thrilling races in 2020.

The “FINA Champions Swim Series” includes a two-day schedule for each leg, with 14 individual and one relay race per session. Following on the successful formula in 2019, no heats are held, with the four invited swimmers directly contesting the respective finals. An eye-catching entertainment programme, with music and lighting show, will also be performed during each of the sessions. Attractive prize money of over US$ 1.2 million per leg will be distributed to the participating stars.

All the action of the 2020 “FINA Champions Swim Series” can be followed on FINATv and will have extensive coverage on both the FINA website and FINA social media platforms.