The FINA Marathon Swim World Series annually staged elite-level competition is organised in over 9 locations and takes places in either fresh water or sea. Since 2007, FINA decided to focus the World Cup on the 10km distance only, as a direct consequence of the introduction of the 10km Marathon Swim into the Olympic programme in 2008.
Each event comprises one day competition programme (for men and women) and approximately +50 National Federations & 370 athletes from all over the world. 
The event Prize money is USD 30’000 while the Overall Prize Money is USD 250’000. Both Prizes are divided across the first 8th women and men swimmers, making a total prize money pursue of USD 550’000.
As of this year, FINA is staging officially together with the elite race (10km) which foreseen the participation of Olympic and World Championships medallists, the mass participation event (Open Challenge).