Open Water in 10 clicks

July 14th, 2017

Quick progression

Open Water Swimming was included in the FINA programme at the 1991 Worlds, while the discipline made its debut at Olympic level in 2008 (10km for men and women)

Did you know?

The 5km Relay Team event is swam by four competitors per National Federation (two men/two women), who complete 1.25km each. Swimmers may swim in any sequence, but may only swim once

World gathering

During 10 years, from 2000 to 2010, FINA organised stand-alone World Open Water Swimming Championships, staged in even years. This event represented an additional opportunity for top-athletes to compete internationally, but become obsolete with the inclusion in the Games

Difficult turns

One of the most challenging moments of a race is the turn around a buoy, when physical contact between swimmers may happen and add difficulty to the progression in the water

Tunisian legend

Tunisia’s Oussama Mellouli is the only swimmer in history to be pool (2008, 1500m free) and open water swimming (2012, 10km) Olympic champion

Age advantage

At almost 42, Germany’s Angela Maurer has won 12 medals in nine World Championships since 2000 and if of course an athlete to watch at the 2017 Worlds in Hungary!

Golden star

Thomas Lurz, from Germany, was the best ever athlete in the history of the World Championships, with 20 podium presences, including 12 gold and victories in all three possible events: 5, 10, 25km, and Team

Podium distribution

In the history of the FINA World Championships (and OWS Swimming Championships), 19 nations placed their best athletes in the podium among men, while 14 countries have medalled in the women’s field

Natural scenarios

The attractiveness of this discipline resides in the different possibilities regarding the venue for the competition: in Hungary, lake Balaton will be used, in Kazan 2015 swimmers competed in Kazanka river, Barcelona 2013 was contested in the Mediterranean waters, while the event in Shanghai 2011 took place on a rowing basin