FINA Communication Department

The FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup 2017 [1]kicked-off this morning, August 2, in Moscow (RUS), with the first leg of the eight-meet 2017 circuit.

Among the stars taking part in the 25m-pool event these two days are: Last year's overall Swimming World Cup female winner and World and Olympic champion Katinka Hosszu (HUN), last year's overall Series winner Vladimir Morozov of Russia, teammate Yuliya Efimova (RUS), World champions Emily Seebohm (AUS) and Mireia Belmonte (ESP), Jamaica's swimming ace Alia Atkinson, and short-course World champion Jesse Puts (NED). Mitch Larkin of Australia and Philip Heintz of Germany will also headline the finals tonight.

The Olimpiyskiy Swimming Pool in Moscow, which has played host to the World Cup since 2003, will welcome 130 (82 men, 48 women) swimmers, representing 35 NFs to compete over 25 events.

The FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup 2017 includes eight legs distributed in three clusters, according to the following schedule:

The 2017 edition will see additional prize money per race together with a prize increase for the overall series winners where both men and women will now receive US$ 150,000.

Sport presentation will also be improved, enhancing the fans’ experience on site and providing a better environment for TV production.

Finally, additional recognition of Olympic and world medallists who will directly qualify for the finals.

The FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup 2017 will be live streamed on the recently launched FINAtv [2] and results will be available on FINA website [3]andFINA mobile app [4].