Hans-Peter Sick, FINA Media Committee Member

Three former winners in the women’s race will also compete in the 2017 FINA/HOSA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup kicking-off in Setubal on 24 June. Ana Marcela Cunha from Brazil left two times the bay of the Atlantic Ocean in front of the Parque Urbano de Albarquel as first: in 2008 and 2014. Cunha will compete in the 11th edition of the event in Setubal with Angela Maurer from Germany, winner in 2011 and the Olympic runner-up Rachele Bruni from Italy.

Ana Marcela Cunha, Kazan bronze medaillist, is the only one woman who coud win a second time in Setubal. In the men's race, twelve-time World champion and meanwhile retired Thomas Lurz from Germany was a two-time winner in Setbual: 2009 and 2010. Last year the Chinese Lijun Zu for the men and Xin Xin in the women's event celebrated a double victory.

The 1975 born Angela Maurer and former two-time World champion is the oldest competitor in the 2017 edition of the 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup in Setubal. Also in the men's event the Germans will have with the last year runner-up Christian Reichert (1985), Alexander Studzinski (1983) and Andreas Waschburger (1987) the oldest participants in the water.

For the Germans, the two World Cup events in Abu Dhabi and Setubal are their national qualification for the 10km event at the World Championships.

The winners at the premiere of the World Cup in Setubal have been Alan Bircher (Great Britain) and Jana Pechanova (Czech Republic) in 2006. Both could celebrate at the Avenida José Mourinho. The street at the Parque Urbano de Albarquel is named after the famous son of the City of Setubal: the wellknown football trainer.