FINA Communications Department

The calendar of the 2019 FINA Swimming World Cup is now finalised and comprises seven meets distributed in three clusters: in August, immediately after the conclusion of the 18th FINA World Championships in Gwangju (KOR), swimming stars will first visit Tokyo (JPN, August 2-4), then Jinan, in China (August 8-10), and finally Singapore on August 15-17.

After a pause in September, the second cluster will see action in Budapest (HUN), on October 4-6, and then in Berlin (GER) on October 11-13. It is a “return” of the German capital to the circuit – since 2000, Berlin is a traditional, and successful host of a Swimming World Cup leg, having only missed the organisation of an event in 2014, 2015 and 2018.

Berlin’s Secretary of State for Sports, Aleksander Dzembritzki, is particularly happy that once again the sports metropolis Berlin is becoming part of the FINA Swimming World Cup Series: “With the Schwimm- und Sprunghalle im Europasportpark we offer one of the best and one of the fastest pools in Europe and therefore provide excellent conditions for top-class swimming. From now on, the FINA World Cup will again be a fixed event on the German capital’s sports calendar. Swimming fans from Berlin can look forward to great competitions.”

Finally, the World Cup will come to an end during the third cluster of the Series, in Kazan (RUS, November 1-3) and Doha (QAT - November 7-9).

For 2019 (it will be the 31st edition of the World Cup), all the meets will take place in a 50m-pool and will be qualifying events for the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo (JPN).

The FINA Swimming World Cup provides a total of over US$ 2.5 million in prize money to the best athletes, distributed as follows: meet prize money – US$ 1million; cluster prize money – US$ 942’000; overall prize money for series winners – US$ 600’000.

This year’s circuit is also highlighted by an important novelty: the partnership of FINA with natural mineral water supplier NongFu Spring, leader in the Chinese market. This agreement extends to the upcoming four editions of the competition, until 2022. Omega will remain the Official Timekeeper of the Series.

2019 Calendar:
1. Tokyo (JPN) - August 2-4
2. Jinan (CHN) - August 8-10
3. Singapore (SGP) - August 15-17
4. Budapest (HUN) - October 4-6
5. Berlin (GER) - October 11-13
6. Kazan (RUS) - November 1-3
7. Doha (QAT) - November 7-9