FINA Communication Department

The 12th edition of the FINA Diving World Series is set to begin with Beijing, China, as the first-of-four host of the 2018 competition, on March 9-11.

Aimed at providing a unique platform to the best divers of the world to get international exposure, after Beijing, this year's circuit will stop in: Fuji, Japan (15-17 March); Montreal, Canada (27-29 April); and Kazan, Russia (4-6 May).

The dynamic and internationally renowned cities of Fuji and Montreal come in as new hosts of this prestigious annual diving rendezvous. However Beijing and Kazan have a long-standing tradition in welcoming this Series, having staged a leg since 2011 and 2015 respectively.

FINA together with the sponsors offers an overall prize money of USD 870,000 to be divided between all of the 10 individual and synchro events, as follows:

1st place

USD 30 000

2nd place

USD 20 000

3rd place

USD 15 000

4th place

USD 10 000

5th place

USD 7 000

6th place

USD 5 000


USD 87 000

Total x 10 events

USD 870 000

Despite China being not only the Series' leading nation but also the discipline's powerhouse for more than three decades now, other countries such as Australia, Canada, DPR Korea, Great Britain, Malaysia, Mexico, Russia and Ukraine (and others) have shown consistent great results in the recent years.

National diving stars such are Chen Aisen, Xie Siyi, Ren Qian and Shi Tingmao are amongst the athletes announced to take part in the inaugural leg. Great Britain's Thomas Daley, Germany's Patrick Hausding and Russia's Evgenii Kolodiy will also be present, while Meaghan Benfeito / Jennifer Abel (CAN), Kim Kuk Hyang (PKR) and Pandelela Pamg (MAS) will headline the women's events. Full start lists available here

2017 overall ranking summary (individual events only)


3m springboard

1. Xie Siyi (CHN)                       66 pts  

2. Jack Laugher (GBR)             64 pts

3. Cao Yuan (CHN)                   60 pts  


10m platform

1. Chen Aisen (CHN)                 72 pts              

2. Yang Hao (CHN)                   62 pts  

3. Thomas Daley (GBR)            58 pts  


3m springboard

1. Shi Tingmao (CHN)                72 pts  

2. Maddison Keeney (AUS)       54 pts  

2. Jennifer Abel (CAN)               50 pts                          

10m platform

1. Si Yajie (CHN)                       70 pts              

2. Ren Qian (CHN)                    64 pts  

3. Meaghan Benfeito (CAN)       46 pts

The spectacular events will be broadcast around the world, and for the first time, it will also be possible for Aquatics fans to watch the dives on FINAtv, both live and on-demand.

Stay tuned for an exciting brand new partnership to be announced on Friday March 9.