FINA Communication Department

Tens of millions of aquatics fans worldwide are set for a two week feast of world class sport starting with the 17th FINA World Championships in Budapest (HUN, July 14-30) followed by the first leg of the pioneering FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup held in Moscow (RUS, August 2-3). 

Composed of 9 legs in 9 iconic cities in three clusters, the competition’s entries started earlier this month with some of swimming's top stars already committed to this year’s World Cup. 

In a drive to consolidate the status of this competition as the top swimming event of the year (outside Olympic Games and FINA World Championships / FINA World Swimming Championships - 25m), the 2017 FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup will be ground-breaking in a number of areas.

The 2017 edition will see additional prize money per race together with a prize increase for the overall series winners where both men and women will now receive US$ 150,000.

Sport presentation will also be improved, enhancing the fans’ experience on site and providing a better environment for TV production.

Finally, additional recognition of Olympic and world medallists who will directly qualify for the finals.

For Cluster 1, this will include all Rio 2016 and Windsor 2016 medallists.

For Clusters 2 & 3, this rule applies to 2016 Olympic champions, gold and silver medallists from Windsor 2016 and all medallists from Budapest 2017.

Commenting on these innovative additions to the 2017 FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup, FINA President Dr. Julio C. Maglione said:

"At FINA we are always looking to innovate; we can never afford to stand still. That is why I welcome these ground-breaking changes to our World Cup which will help establish it as our premier event outside the Olympics and our swimming world championships. There is a big focus on recognition for our stars; they have a huge role to play in the long term sustainable growth of our sport and we thank them for their participation and engagement." 

The complete calendar for the 2017 edition of the FINA/ airweave World Cup includes the following locations and dates:  

Cluster 1

  • Moscow (RUS), August 2-3
  • Berlin (GER), August 6-7
  • Eindhoven (NED), August 11-12  

Cluster 2

  • Doha (QAT), September 22-23
  • Dubai (UAE), September 26-27
  • Hong Kong (HKG), September 30 – October 1  

Cluster 3

  • Beijing (CHN), November 10-11
  • Tokyo (JPN),November 14-15
  • Singapore (SGP), November 18-19