Russell McKinnon, FINA Media Committee

Perth, Australia, Mar 30— Japan men will play Australia and the Aussie Stingers women will clash with United States of America in the gold-medal finals at the FINA Water Polo World League Intercontinental Cup tournaments at the HBF Stadium in Perth on Sunday.

Japan reached the final first, in a high-octane, high-fouling encounter against Kazakhstan 12-7, followed by the Aussie Sharks making no mistakes like it did against Canada ion the first day, winning 14-7 with Anthony Hrysanthos blocking two penalty shots.

In the men's round 5-8 semifinals, Argentina had the better of South Africa 12-6 and China downed a late-charging New Zealand 11-8.

Australia will play United States of America in the women's gold-medal final after Australia beat China 12-8 and USA sent Canada to the bronze-medal play-off with a 14-7 margin.

In the women's round 5-8 semifinals, Kazakhstan shrugged off New Zealand 14-12, thanks to the last three goals by Zamirco Myrzabekova, and Japan defeated South Africa 12-7.

Sunday schedule:

09:30: W21 Classification 7-8, New Zealand v South Africa

10:45: W22 Classification 5-6, Kazakhstan v Japan

12:15: M21 Classification 7-8, South Africa v New Zealand

13:30: M22 Classification 5-6, Argentina v China

14:45: M23 Classification 3-4, Kazakhstan v Canada

16:15: W23 Classification 3-4, China v Canada

17:30: W24 Classification 1-2, Australia v United States of America

19:00 M24 Classification 1-2, Japan v Australia