First SA International Swimming Meet successful in Port Elizabeth

Federations News

The first South African International Swimming Meet was launched in the windy city of Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape.The two-day event drew leading swimmers from Germany, Great Britain, USA, Spain, Brazil, Venezuela, Tunisia, Trinidad and Tobago.

The best performances, both male and female, based on FINA points, each earned $10,000 and were awarded to Randall Bal (USA) and Elizabeth Simmonds (GBR) respectively.

The event is expected to be the first of many, Prof. Alfred Nevhutanda, Chairperson of the National Lotteries Board, said: "We hope that the grants from the National Lottery Distribution Trust Fund (NLDTF) will help develop swimming in South Africa so that we get representation from all corners of South Africa at future international meets. To the athletes, your performances take swimming to a new level not only in the minds of SA's sports fans, but all across the world."


St. Lucia rewards young talents

Federations News

In a glittering ceremony at the Gaiety Theatre on February 19, the Minister of Youth & Sports, the Honorable Lenard "Spider" Montoute presented the national Sportspersons of the Year Awards.

For the fourth successive year, swimmer Sonia Huxley was named as St. Lucia's Junior Sportswoman of the Year while for the second year, swimmer Joshua Runako Daniel was named as Junior Sportman of the Year. This highly competitive young athlete holds a total of fourteen St. Lucia records for the 13-14 age group, as well as a national record in the 100m butterfly.


Canada to host inaugural World Junior Open Water Swimming Championships

Federations News

Swimming Canada received the great news that its bid for the 2012 World Junior Open Water Swimming Championships, presented to FINA, the International federation for competitive swimming, had been accepted. This inaugural event will be held in the spectacular Welland Recreational Waterway, located in the heart of Niagara, Ontario in August of 2012.

“FINA is delighted to award the 1st FINA World Junior Open Water Swimming Championships to Canada,” said Dr. Margo Mountjoy, member of the FINA bureau.  

“Canada has a longstanding history in open water swimming and in hosting FINA events having just recently held the successful FINA World Open Water Swimming Championships 2010 in Roberval, Quebec. The Niagara Region is an attractive and exciting location for these Championships,” added Mountjoy.

Read more


Remembering William (Bill) George Cody

FINA Family

The sport of swimming in Puerto Rico has suffered a great loss upon the death of one of its leaders.  Bill, as he is referred to by all his friends, an electrical engineer by profession, started his participation in swimming as a parent.  From the beginning, together with his wife Rose, he became an enthusiastic supporter, eventually serving in different positions in the administration of the sport including the Presidency of Puerto Rico Swimming Federation.  

Bill's dedications and services to the sport extended beyond Puerto Rico as he became a member of the Executive Committee and Treasurer of the Central American and Caribbean Swimming Federation (CCCAN). In addition he assisted his wife Rose in her responsibilities as Vice President of the FINA Masters Swimming Committee and in her role as the Chair of the UANA Technical Swimming Committee.

Read more


Brazilians take home 13 medals from Port Elizabeth

Federations News

Nine Brazilian swimmers took part in the International Invitation Swimming Meet 2011 taking place in Port Elizabeth, South Africa. The national team included Fernanda Alvarenga, Henrique Barbosa, João Luiz Junior, Tatiana Lemos, Fabiola Molina, Carolina Mussi, Raphael Rodrigues, Tatiane Sakemi and Diogo Yabe. In all, 13 medals were garnered by the Brazilians. Luiz Junior was the only one to bag two gold medals, in the 50m and 100m breaststroke.

Read more


Page 105 of 126