FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup

This annually staged elite-level competition is organised around seven meets and takes place in some of the world's most amazing natural water bodies, either freshwater (lake, rowing course, river) or saltwater (sea).


February 1 Patagones-Viedma (ARG)
April 5 Cancun (MEX)
June 28 Setubal (POR)
July 24 Lac St-Jean (CAN)
August 1 Lac Magog (CAN)
August 9 Lac Megantic (CAN)
October 12 Chun'an (CHN)
October 18 Hong Kong (HKG)

In the beginning (between 1997 and 2006), the World Cup included a whole range of long distances. Since 2007, FINA decided to focus the World Cup on the 10km distance only, as a direct consequence of the introduction of the 10km Marathon Swim on the Olympic programme in 2005. The former Marathon Swimming World Cup circuit was therefore “split” in order to create a separate 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup, while races above 10km would then be part of the FINA Open Water Swimming Grand Prix.

Biagioli (ARG) and Lurz (GER) win in Santos

10km Marathon Swimming World Cup

The season of the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup 2011 has started! The city of Santos, in Brazil, was the place of the first leg of the circuit. A beautiful sunrise welcomed the spectators on Aparecida beach to watch the race.

93 swimmers (50 men and 43 women) from 21 countries disputed the event: Albany, Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Germany, Greece, Israel, Mexico, Peru, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine, the United States, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Read more


FINA 10km MSWC 2010: Magic of Cancun for Race 7

10km Marathon Swimming World Cup

On October 9, the best swimmers in the world will be on the beautiful beaches of Cancun, to participate in the 7th leg of FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup 2010. It is a very important event for the Government of Mexico because this marathon race in the waters of the Mexican Caribbean will celebrate the bicentennial of the Independence of Mexico.

The Mexican Swimming Federation is entrusted to organise this year its third international event, the second in open water, after the Grand Prix Sumidero Canyon (15 km) and two FINA Diving World Series meets in Veracruz. Cancun will host the event, which involves a 10km race with the assistance of the best swimmers in this new Olympic discipline, which made its debut in the Olympic Games in Beijing 2008.

Read more


FINA 10km MSWC 2009, Overview of Race 1 (Santos, BRA): Great season opener!

10km Marathon Swimming World Cup


The first race of the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup 2009, which was held in Santos (BRA) on January 24, has been hailed as a resounding success by organisers and in global open water swimming circles.

The competition doubled as the widely popular Maratona Aquatica Internacional de Santos / Travessia Renata Agondi and the event included festive amateur races in the distances of 1km, 2km and 4km in addition to the premier 10km. More than 1000 athletes participated in front of thousands of spectators.

Read more


Page 2 of 2