Frontpage Slideshow (version 2.0.0) - Copyright © 2006-2008 by JoomlaWorks

DWS 2014, Monterrey Day 3: Meaghan Benfeito (CAN) and Qiu Bo (CHN), the best on the platform

Diving World Series

The atmosphere at the Autonomous University of Nuevo León continued to electrify as the competition unfolded on the last day of the FINA/NVC Diving World Series in Monterrey with intense battles in the men's and women's 10m platform finals.

Meaghan Benfeito (CAN) stunned Chinese favourite Liu Huixia to capture gold while China's Qiu Bo was back on top after taking out the men's event.

Benfeito triumphed with a total 398.20, beating Liu Huixia, who followed closely behind with 395.30 points. Liu is the Series overall winner with 98 points. The bronze went to Mexican newcomer Alejandra Estrella. The 15-year-old diver completed the podium with a total score of 369.20.

"I did not expect to finish first, I just did what my coach told me. I'm glad because I have worked very hard to achieve this today," said Benfeito.

"I want to congratulate the other competitors from Canada and Mexico were very good today. I was not feeling confident in my dives today but I'm happy to end up overall winner of the Series," said Liu.

"I did not expect this result, now I know that we must dream and strive to achieve that dream," said Estrella.

credit - Christian Palma

Among men, Qiu Bo dominated the operations to win the event with a total 583.95. Main challenger Tom Daley (GBR) was not far behind with 577.20 while Russian Victor Minibaev took the minor medal with 557.90 points. Minibaev is the Series overall winner in the event with 76 points.

"Monterrey was the most difficult meet in the Series this year, the scores were very high. Everyone trains hard for good results so you can't go wrong," said Qiu.

"The atmosphere and the fans were great. We reached nearly 600 points in the top-3, which shows the level of competition," said Daley.

"I reached my goal to be the overall winner again, the competition was really tough here," said Minibaev.

The 2014 FINA/NVC Diving World Series overall winners - credit: Christian Palma