Frontpage Slideshow (version 2.0.0) - Copyright © 2006-2008 by JoomlaWorks

DWS 2013, Guadalajara day 1: Golden day for Mexico and China

Diving World Series

GUADALAJARA, Mexico - China and Mexico repeated as gold medallists on the opening day of the fifth round of the FINA/Midea Diving World Series 2013, held in Guadalajara, Jalisco (MEX) from May 17-19. In his homeland, to the sound of mariachi, Ivan Garcia and German Sanchez, dubbed the 'wonder boys' for their prowess in the air and high degree of difficulty, won the gold medal in the men's 10m platform synchro with a total 467.55 points.

The Mexican pair, who won a silver medal at the 2012 London Olympics, delighted their audience and were applauded in each of their six dives. Russia took the second place with Victor Minibaev and Artem Chesakov totalling 428.49. The bronze went to Jose Guerra and Jeinkler Aguirre of Cuba with 409.11 points, with one more medal going to Latin America.

Mexico's Yahel Castillo and Daniel Islas - credit: Hector Vivas

Yahel Castillo and Daniel Islas performed in the men's 3m springboard synchro to win the gold medal with 453.12 points. It was the second gold medal of the day for the host federation, a premiere in Diving World Series history.

China finished second with Shixin Li and Chao He with 445.83. Britain was third with Nicholas Robinson-Baker and Christopher Mears scoring 407.49 points.

Men's 3m springboard synchro podium - credit: Hector Vivas

The world's best divers are participating in the FINA/Midea Diving World Series 2013. In Guadalajara, divers from eleven countries, including 15 world and Olympic medallists, are competing.

The participating countries are: Canada, Colombia, Cuba, China, Great Britain, Greece, Italy, Malaysia, Russia, Ukraine and Mexico.