Lima 2011, Day 2: Thirteen nations already with medals

FINA World Junior Swimming Championships

Thirteen different flags climbed the podium in two days of competition at the3rd FINA World Junior Swimming Championships, organised in Lima (PER), from August 16-21. Moreover, 21 new championships records were already established in the Peruvian capital.

The second day began with the first gold medal for Australia. Bonnie Macdonald (1995) clocked 8:32.30 and won the women’s 800m freestyle gold after a tight race with Gillian Ryan (USA, 1995, 8:33.46) and Claudia Dasca (ESP, 1994, 8:34.29). Bonnie swam close to the opponents most of the race and took the lead with 300m to go. “I’m really proud to be Australian. I entered into the race to swim my best. I have so many people to thank, including the team, because we are like a family. I’m so happy. I wasn’t thinking on winning or not winning, my strategy was only focused in my race,” said Bonnie.

Jacob Pebley (USA, 1995, 55.01) won the men’s 100m backstroke followed by Fabio Laugeni (ITA, 1994, 55.68) and Kosuke Hagino (JPN, 1994, 55.69).

Spain’s Ignacio Judith (1994) swam the women’s 200m butterfly close to the record time established by Japan's Natsuki Akiyama in Monterrey in 2008 (2:08.10). Judith clocked 2:08.25. Polieri Alessia (ITA 1994, 2:09.65) and Miyu Otsuka (JPN, 1994, 2:11.35) completed the podium. Alessia and Miyu increased their collection of medals after winning the gold and silver medals respectively in the 400m individual medley in the first day in Lima.

Canadian Bobrosky Chad (1993) put his country in the highest place on the podium for the first time in the men’s 200m freestyle. Chad finished in 1:49.13 after being already first at halfway mark. In second, Pawel Werner (1993, 1:49.39) also gave the first medal for Poland. Australian Cameron McEvoy (1994, 1:50.12) earned bronze.

Among the flags raised for the first time in Lima to the highest place in the podium, there was the Italian one, thanks to the victory of Lisa Fissneider in the women’s 50m breaststroke (31.51). She was happy to sing her anthem accompanied by the Italian delegation in the stands. Second place went to American Sarah Haase (1994, 31.84) and third place went to Claire Polit (1995, 31.95) also the first French medal in the competition.

The last three events of the night registered six performances below the record of the championships. All the medallist of the men’s 100m breaststroke got better times than the Japan’s Akihiro Yamaguchi 1:01.98 effort in the previous day heats: Harry Craig (GBR, 1994, 1:01:34), Akihiro (1:01:54) and Greek Panagiotis Samilidis (1993, 1:01.64).

Ukraine and China got gold and silver in the women’s 100m backstroke: Daryna Zevina (1994, 1:00.59) won, followed by Fu Yuanhui (1996, 1:01.13). The bronze went to Kathleen Saunders (GBR, 1994, 1:02.35).

Higino Kosuke (JPN, 1994) did in the finals what he had promised in the preliminaries, when he beat the record in the men’s 200m individual medley (2:02.00). In the decisive race, he clearly won, finishing with a much faster time - 2:00.90. The second-placed Andreas Vazaios (GRE 1994, 2:01.64) also made a better time than Kosuke in in the heats. Maksym Shemberev (1993) won the bronze medal and Ukraine's second award of the night (2:02.37).

Day 2
Championships Records

Boys 200m Individual Medley – Kosuke Hagino (JPN): 2:02.00

Semifinals and Finals

Girls 800m Freestyle – Bonnie Macdonald (AUS): 8:32.30
Girls 100m Freestyle – Lia Neal (USA): 55.18
Girls 100m Freestyle – Bronte Campbell (AUS): 55.47
Girls 100m Backstroke – Daryna Zevina (UKR): 1:00.59
Boys 100m Breaststroke – Craig Benson (GBR): 1:01.34
Boys 100m Breaststroke – Akihiro Yamaguchi (JPN): 1:01.54
Boys 100m Breaststroke – Panagiotis Samilidis (GRE): 1:01.64
Boys 200m Individual Medley – Kosuke Hagino (JPN): 2:00.90
Boys 200m Individual Medley – Andreas Vazaio (GRE): 2:01.64

Medal Table - after Day 2

USA 4 2 1 7
JPN 2 1 2 6
CAN 1 2 0 4
ITA 1 2 0 4
AUS 1 0 2 3
ESP 1 0 2 3
GBR 1 0 1 2
UKR 1 0 1 2
GRE 0 1 1 2
CHN 0 1 0 1
POL 0 1 0 1
FRA 0 0 1 1
RUS 0 0 1 1