GB Youth Team for Lima announced

Federations News

The British Gas GBR swimming team for the FINA World Junior Swimming Championships has been announced by British Swimming. The 18 talented youngsters will compete in Lima, Peru against the best swimmers aged 18 or under from around the globe. The selections were made at the British Gas Swimming Championships held in Manchester earlier this year.

The team includes 2010 European Junior champion, Emma Saunders, who also won a relay medal at last year’s Commonwealth Games in Delhi and European Junior Champion Sophie Smith, who also competed for the senior team at the GB versus Germany meet earlier this year.

Mark Perry, the British Swimming Development Coach said: “It is a great opportunity to give our younger swimmers the opportunity to step up a level and have the experience of competing in a big international competition.

“The team have a broad spectrum of experience, and this is an important stepping stone in all of their swimming careers”.

The full team list for the FINA World Junior Swimming Championships is:
Craig Benson – Warrander
Grant Halsall – Plymouth Leander
Matthew Johnson – City of Sheffield
Thomas Moss – Stockport Metro
Matthew Parks – City of Manchester Aquatics
Adam Rowe – Royal Wolverhampton
Sam Van de Schootbrugge – Nova Centurion

Jessica Fullalove – City of Manchester Aquatics
Jodie Hawksworth – Der ventio
Georgia Hohmann – Nova Centurion
Emily Jones – Garioch
Rachael Kelly – Royal Wolverhampton
Jessica Lloyd – City of Manchester Aquatics
Karley Mann – Hillingdon
Amelia Maughan – Millfield/British Gas ITC Bath
Siobhan-Marie O’Connor  - Team Bath/Bath University
Emma Saunders - City of Manchester Aquatics
Sophie Smith – City of Leicester

FINA Newsletter