Waschburger (GER) and Okimoto (BRA) dominate in Cancun (MEX)

10km Marathon Swimming World Cup

Andreas Waschburger (GER) - credit: Christian PalmaAndreas Waschburger (GER) and Poliana Okimoto (BRA) won the second leg of the FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup in Cancun (MEX) with a time of 1h53m58s and 2h01m58s, respectively.

In all, 36 athletes from 15 countries (Germany, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Slovenia, USA, Guatemala, Hungary, Italy, Israel, Kazakhstan, Mexico, Syria and Switzerland) took the departure in a race that serves as a testing ground for the upcoming FINA World Championships in Shanghai.

A site named "Cascade" was the arrival point for all swimmers, who crossed the line in a mass finish. Only a photo finish decided which one of them was the winner. The race consisted of eight laps of a 1.25km circuit.

In the men's field, Germany dominated the operations, as they did in the opening race in Santos, Brazil. Andreas Waschburger (GER) led for the whole race, closely followed by teammate Thomas Lurz, who touched home a second later (1h53m59s). Alex Meyer from the USA took the bronze medal in a time of 1h54m12s following the disqualification of Michael Dmitrier from Israel.

Among women, Poliana Okimoto (BRA) got her first gold medal of the season after a 2h01m58s effort. In Santos, the experienced open water swimmer, finished second. After the first two stops, the Brazilian tops the ranking. The silver medal went to Eva Risztov from Hungary, clocking 2h02m00s while the bronze was reserved for another German, Isabell Donath, with 2h02m01s.

As for local competitors, Luis Escobar and Ivan Lopez finished in 1h54m31s and 1h54m44s, respectively, in tenth and eleventh positions. Teammate Manuel Chiu placed 17th (1h57m30s). In the women's field, Alejandra Gonzalez was ninth, timing 2h02m06s and Zaira Cardenas placed eleventh with a time of 2h02m36s.

The FINA 10km Marathon Swimming World Cup next top will be on June 18 in Setubal (POR).

Women's Podium with Eva Risztov (HUN), Poliana Okimoto (BRA) and Isabell Donath (GER) - credit: Christian Palma
Women's Podium with Eva Risztov (HUN), Poliana Okimoto (BRA) and Isabell Donath (GER) - credit: Christian Palma