WPWL 2010 Men & Women: Australia and China, the best in the Asia/Oceania groups

World League

The teams of Australia and China qualified for the Super Finals of the 2010 FINA Men’s and Women’s Water Polo World Leagues, after finishing first of the Asia/Oceania qualification group.

In the men’s field, there were two preliminary rounds, the first being held in Osaka (JPN), from May 19-23, and the second in Tianjin (CHN), from May 26-30. After the 10 games for each of the six participating teams – Australia, China, Iran, Japan, Kazakhstan and New Zealand – the Australians got 10 triumphs (and 30 points), while China finished with two losses (precisely against Australia) and eight wins (24 points). Kazakhstan and Japan both finished with 15 points (five victories, five defeats), while New Zealand only secured two triumphs and Iran lost all its games.

After the conclusion of the Asia/Oceania group, seven teams are now qualified for the Super Final of the competition, to be organised in Nis (SRB), from July 13-18: Australia and China (Asia/Oceania), USA (Americas), Croatia, Montenegro, Serbia and Spain (Europe). The remaining eighth team will come from the African qualification round, to be played in Tunis (TUN), from June 17-20.   

Among women, after the two rounds of preliminaries, also held in Osaka, from May 21-23, and then in Tianjin, from May 26-28, Australia and China finished with five triumphs and one loss each, leading the group with respectively 16 and 14 points (Australians have lost their game to China by penalty shootout, which still gave them one point and Chinese only two points).

The two other teams of the group – Kazakhstan and Japan – were less successful, with Kazakhstan winning only two matches (out of six played) and Japan losing all its encounters.

For the Super Final, to be held in San Diego (California, USA), from June 28-July 3, four teams are now qualified: from Americas, Canada and USA, and from Asia/Oceania, Australia and China. The remaining four teams will be selected from the European qualification, to be organised from June 9-20 in Athens (GRE), Budapest (HUN), Nancy (FRA) and Messina (ITA).