Frontpage Slideshow (version 2.0.0) - Copyright © 2006-2008 by JoomlaWorks

DWS 2010 - Qingdao (CHN), Day 1

Diving World Series

Olympic champion Minxia Wu and world champion Zi He of China failed to win the gold medal in the women’s 3m springboard synchro event on the first day (March 27) of the FINA/Li-Ning Diving World Series 2010 in Qingdao, China.

The pair teamed up for the first time in career but made a terrible mistake before finishing fourth in the event. The title was claimed by Russians Svetlana Filippova and Anastasia Pozdniakova. Sharleen Stratton and Briony Cole from Australia and American pair Cassidy Krug and Kassidy Cook finished in second and third places respectively.

Wu and He got a total of 189.30 points and established a 16.8-point lead after three dives. But Wu, winner of two Olympic gold medals in Beijing, failed to set foot on the board as she jumped up in the fourth round and the judges gave them zero point.

Wu commented her misfortune in a post-match press conference: "We did well in the first three rounds, but I lost balance when I jumped and my right foot failed to set on the board." She added: "Fortunately, I am not injured and I am confident to do better with Zi He in the future."
Wu, who has been a long-time partner with "Diving Queen" Jingjing Guo, started to pair with He since this season.  

Yanquan Zhang and Yuan Cao of China won the men's 10m platform synchro event with a total of 483.16 points. Patrick Hausding and Sascha Klein from Germany took the silver medal while Cubans Jose Guerra Oliva and Jeinkler Aguirre took the bronze.

In the women’s 10m platform event, China's Olympic champion Ruolin Chen secured the gold medal. Compatriot Kang Li got the silver medal while Canadian Meaghan Benfeito took the third place. Chen, winner of this event at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, reached the final with the highest score, 419.40 points, and established her lead from the very beginning of the final.  

Chinese Olympic medallist Kai Qin clinched the men's 3m springboard gold with a total of 523.95 points. Qin, who was 1.1 point behind American Troy Dumais after the first dive, got 86.7 points in the second round and edged Dumais with 0.6 point. Qin, medallist of the 3m springboard synchro at the 2008 Beijing Olympics, scored 104.50 points in the fifth dive and established a 31.5-point lead to secure his title. Troy Dumais (USA) and Patrick Hausding (GER), who finished with 487.50 and 462.80 points, took the second and third place respectively.