Four Mexican divers in the opening round of the FINA/Li-Ning Diving World Series in Qingdao (CHN)

Federations News

The national diving team travelled to Qingdao, China, to participate in the opening round of the FINA/Li-Ning Diving World Series on March 27-28, 2010.

Diving team’s Vice President, Alberto Acosta, confirmed the participation of four Mexicans in the first stage, which brings together the world’s top eight divers. Among them are 10m platform world champion Paola Espinosa, Yahel Castillo, ranked sixth worldwide in the 3m springboard and pair Ivan Garcia and Germán Sánchez in the 10m platform synchro. The coaches accompanying the team are Ma Jin, Ivan Bautista and Stefan Marinov.

Paola Espinosa left the country cheered by "mariachis", wishing her good luck for the start of her international competition schedule.
Espinosa said that the competition in China would "be difficult”, but she is optimistic: “I just want a good result and take the opportunity to try new things, technical details that have been polished by my coach, Ma Jin."

She added that this season she would not only compete in the 10m platform but also in the 3m springboard and reminded that she had not changed any of her dives, thus continuing with the same list of dives she performed in 2009 .

She mentioned that although FINA changed the degree of difficulty of some dives, she still believes she has made the right choice: "I think that I still have a list of dives which, by their degree of difficulty, allow me to still be competitive."

"My list is pretty good; it is on a par with any best diver in the world and I think it is even better than some of theirs, so I think it is good enough to compete at world level," she added.

Espinosa, who is also Pan-American champion, continued: "In each competition I take part in, I always go with the mentality to do the best I can, by executing each dive well.”

After the opening round of the FINA/Li-Ning Diving World Series in Qingdao, China, on March 27-28, the world's best divers will meet in Veracruz, Mexico, for the second round on April 16-17.

FINA Newsletter