Brazil’s water polo team and open water swimmers get ready for upcoming events

Federations News

Brazil’s national men’s water polo team has been convened for the South American Championships. The 13 players will fight against other teams from the Southern continent on March 20-25 in Medellin, Colombia. Check the official list bellow:

Players: Luiz Maurício Santos, Vinícius Antonelli, Felipe Santos, Gustavo Guimarães, Bernardo Reis, Gabriel Reis, Bruno Nolasco, Danilo Correa, Jonas Crivella, João Felipe Coelho, Marcelo Franco, Henrique Moniz and Gustavo Coutinho.

Brazil has also selected its national open water swimming team to take part in the sixth FINA World Open Water Swimming Championships to be held in Roberval, Canada, on July 15-23, 2010. Among women, Ana Marcela Cunha and Poliana Okimoto will swim both the 5-kilometre and 10-kilometre events. In the men’s competition, Allan do Carmo will enter in the 5-kilometre and 10-kilometre races as well. Moreover, Samuel de Bona will swim the 5-kilometre race and Felipe Alcântara the 10-kilometre.

Brazilian swimmers Ana Marcela Cunha and Allan do Carmo are in good shape since they both won the first leg of the Brazilian National Open Water Swimming Championships. The 5-kilometre race was held in Porto Belo, Brazil. In the women’s field, Ana Marcela Cunha took gold in 1h04m33s, ahead of Betina Lorscheitter, who arrived second in 1h04m47s and Izabela Fortini, third in 1h05m07. In the men’s side, the race was led by Allan do Carmo, who finished first in 58m49s. He was closely followed by Samuel de Bona, who finished second with a time of 58m52s, while Victor Colonese got the third place in 58m53s.

FINA Newsletter