Best swimmers meet in Tokyo for Japan Open 2010

Federations News

The Japan Open 2010 / Japan short course nationals were held at the Tokyo-Tatsumi International Swimming Complex in Tokyo, Japan, on February 27 and 28, 2010. More than 3,000 spectators gathered together to enjoy the competition and witness the performances of famous worldwide swimmers such as Lotte Friis (DEN), Cameron van der Burgh (RSA), Therese Alshammar (SWE) and Gao Chang (CHN). 28 countries took part in the event.

Two national records were broken: Hidemasa Sano timed 1:50.97 in the men’s 200m butterfly and 1:53.85 in the men’s 200m IM. Junya Koga, Ryosuke Irie and Takeshi Matsuda – all medallists of the 2009 FINA World Championships in Rome – swam as well as Hidemasa Sano but without breaking any national record.

Each winner of the races won US$1,000.-. Gao Chang (CHN) for women and Hidemasa Sano for men were selected for the “Most Valuable Swimmer” award in the meet. They both got the highest points from their races calculated by the FINA's point score and received US$10,000. - each.
TV Asahi covered the two-day competition.
The next big meet will be the Japan Swim 2010 / Japan long course nationals, to be held in Tokyo on April 13-18, 2010.

FINA Newsletter