Esporte Clube Pinheiros wins second title in Brazil’s WP League

Federations News

The Esporte Clube Pinheiros won its second title in the Men's National League of Water Polo (João Havelange Trophy). In the second final game, Pinheiros defeated Fluminense by 12-7 in Rio de Janeiro. In the first decisive match, Pinheiros was also better, scoring 12-5. Last year, Pinheiros and Fluminense also played the final games and the Pinheiros club got the title as well.

Thyê Mattos was elected the best goalkeeper of National League and André “Quito” Raposo was the best scorer with 33 goals. The fans elected the goal of João Coelho (Botafogo) in the match against Guanabara as the most beautiful of the championship.

The final match of the championships was broadcasted nationally.

The team of Pinheiros celebrating the title - credit: Satiro Sodré/CBDA

Top-3 scorers of National League:
1.    André “Quito” Raposo (Fluminense) – 33 goals
2.    Daniel Mameri (Pinheiros) – 31 goals
3.    Marcelo Franco (Pinheiros) – 29 goals

FINA Newsletter